top of page

About us

The Dalesburg-Pleasant Valley Lutheran Parish represents the partnership of two neighboring congregations in

southeastern South Dakota - Dalesburg Lutheran Church (celebrating its 150th year as a congregation in 2021) and

Pleasant Valley Lutheran Church (est. 1875). Both churches are situated approximately 15 miles from Vermillion

(Dalesburg directly north of town, and Pleasant Valley north and west of town). The churches are eight (8) miles apart

from one another, sharing both the surrounding rural community and heritage from original settlers to the area.

We are a rural community, grounded in Christ, empowered by the Holy Spirit, who are committed to

connecting people to God and each other. When asked to describe our call to mission and service and

"who we are", the following words were offered by congregants: grounded, faith-based, welcoming,

open, empathetic, giving, inviting, and supportive. These connections are built at the local, regional,

national and global levels.

our pastor:

Our Leaders:

DLC photo.jpeg
Nick Oyen - DLC Council President

Dustin Oelmann - DLC Vice President

Kay Swee - DLC Council Secretary

Anna Nelson - DLC Treasurer

Doris Knutson - DLC Membership and Nurture

Karen Sternquist - DLC Worship and Arts

Ron Johnson - DLC Property Chair
Rick Peterson - PVLC Council President 

Donna Henriksen - PVLC Council Secretary

Debbie Peterson - 
PVLC Council Treasurer

Tony Nelson - PVLC Financial Secretary

Jerry Loen - PVLC Council Member
bottom of page